Solar Eclipse

15 years ago, during the last Solar Eclipse, I was still at school as a 13 year old!!

This time I was pretty hyped up about it. I had an idea in my head to capture the eclipse as part of a stunning Fashion Portrait using dramatic lighting. So that’s what we headed out to do. Assisted by my friend Stephen and with model Faye Winstone all ready to go, we travelled up to Chester Le Street Park. I remember shooting a family portrait session there in 2012 and I remember this awesome leaning tree that would look great in the image.

If anyone from this part of the world was watching the eclipse, it was a bit of an anti climax in that the cloud cover pretty much blocked most of it out. We had literally given up hope of even seeing the sun through the clouds and started shooting in the opposite direction.

We did manage, during a break in the clouds, just two frames with the eclipse in. The first was a misfire on the flash and the second one (bottom image) nailed it with a little smile at the bottom of the sun.

We shot a few more frames while we were there, but I got the shot I wanted…..

2015-03-29_0002.jpg

2015-04-04_0001.jpg

2015-03-29_0003.jpg

2015-03-29_0001.jpg

Categories: Fashion, Portfolio, Portraits | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

